Joanne Jones Trophy
The Joanne Jones Trophy honors one of the originators of Kenmure Fights Cancer. Joanne survived breast cancer for several years, but, sadly, lost her battle. Her bright and joyful persona will long be remembered by those who knew her. Her husband, Ken, relates her journey with cancer.

"In 2007, Joanne was named "Woman of the Year" by Pardee Hospital. Her picture (at right) is still in the Cancer Center at Pardee. At that time, we thought cancer was behind us ... but as we know, you are never cured ... it is just in remission. When her cancer was identified again, she was concerned she would let those people down who had thought this was over. 

"Joanne loved to 'cruise.' We had traveled everywhere and had been on ships of all shapes and sizes but she wanted to make one last trip around the world. Dr. Radford gave us the okay to go since there was nothing else to do. She sent a daily email from the ship to her friends, many who are here in Kenmure, and was upbeat until the end.  We got as far as Australia when she just couldn't go any more. We came home and she died a few weeks later ... March 31, 2009."

Ambassador Quincy says, "Red is a very good color for me!" At left, Ambassador Quincy shows off the azaleas donated and planted in Joanne's memory near the Kenmure entrance.

Each year, the winners of the Kenmure Fights Cancer Golf Tournament are recognized on a plaque that is affixed to the trophy. The trophy itself is permanently located at Kenmure Country Club. 

Right: Steve Harbison, KCC Club Manager and Ambassador Quincy. Steve sees to it that the trophy is updated each year.

Left: 2014 Winners: Mike Mulcahy, Peter Haft, Dick Brown & Brian Mulcahy. The trophy was presented by a dear friend of Joanne's, Karen Beer (center). Rear: Master of ceremonies, David Amsler.

The trophy is awarded to the team with the low net score. As of April, 2014, all players are eligible.

Results are available from 2014 - present. Click on the year below.

 2019:Jeremy Gothberg accepts the trophy for the AdventHealth Hendersonville team.

Here are the trophy winners to date:

 Year  Winners  Year  Winners
 2005  Kevin Tait
 2006 & 2007
 Mark Aspinwall
   Tom Tolles
   Dwight Donaldson
   Robert Huffman
   Gerry Fitsgibbons
   Donald Hoeffecker
   Richard Ludders
2008  Bill Baker
 2009  Judy Adamson
   Joe Copeland
   John Adamson
   Don Mitchell
   Sarah Buntin
   Doug Watson
   John Buntin
 2010  John McFaddin
2011  Suzanne Gray
   Paul Rapp
   Al Beers
   Sam Rumford
   Darla Krause
   Kevin Tait
   Jim Krause
 2012  Alan Guyton
 2013  Donald Mitchell
   Brandon Nudd
   Joe Copeland
   Karston Randolph
   Jim Howard
   Jason Wells
   Tom Aschenbrenner
2014  Dick Brown  2015  Judy Pendergast
   Peter Haft
   Bill Pendergast
   Brian Mulcahy    Lois Mikrut
   Mike Mulcahy
   Al Pennington
 2016  Brandon Frank  2017  John Eskew
   Kolten Rezis    Tommy Toles
   Bobby Rezis    Bill Gold
   Matthew Poteat    Wes Cleary
 2018  Rained out  2019  Jeremy Wilde
       Todd Gothberg
   Mark Murrill
     Ben Teague
 2020 Dave Caudle  
  Lisa Caudle  
  Doug Blankman  
  Angela Blankman  

Kenmure Fights Cancer, c/o Susan Bush, 2020 President, 328 Kenmure Drive, Flat Rock, NC 28731

Contact: (828) 692-1281 or susan@libertymanuals.com

Kenmure Fights Cancer has donor advised and designated funds with the Community Foundation of Henderson County.

Website: www.cfhcforever.org                  Contact: (828) 697-6224

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software